Perseverance

The logo could use a little work by Tera but this race was very well run.

So it is true. Ignorance really is bliss. Yesterday I finished my first ever endurance mountain bike race the Black Bear Rampage, a 40-miler along and above the Ocoee River in Tennessee. I didn’t know what to expect and that was probably the best thing for me. Having never ridden more than 20 miles on a mountain bike in one day in my life, I didn’t know when to eat on the trail, when to push, when to take it easy, what class I was supposed to register for, and, at times after the 25 mile mark, I wasn’t even sure when to shift or turn the handlebars.

It’s been a long time since I’ve put myself through that kind of test and it felt good. Really good. My thigh muscles felt like they were being rung dry like dish rags and there were several moments where I weaved like a drunk driver. Four and a half hours is a long time to be on a mountain bike seat and I have even more respect for the riders who do the 100 mile MTB races like Leadville (Utah) and Fool’s Gold (Georgia). Impressive.

My only goal was to finish this event and now I’m trying to figure out what to do with what I learned. In the previous post I talked about how Tera and I have competitive spirits that have been dormant for a dozen or more years. It’s time to dust them off.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

