What can you not live without?

Its a popular cliché. “I can’t live without it” or “how did we ever live without [insert object, usually cell phone]?” Amidst the cacophony of electronic devices that we’ve become more attached to than an infant to a pacifier, I’ve found there are other everyday items that can be challenging at times to live without. Like a microwave. Or a toilet. Or even a shower.

I started thinking about this because last night T asked me what I’m giving up for Lent. Since she’s Catholic and observes the 40 days of Lent I think I may be required to do the same. Well, not required but wisdom tells me it may be the good husbandly thing to do. If Jesus did then I can do it, too! I already have a head start thought. Last summer, when Tera and I ripped out our old microwave and stove we found that newer model microwaves that hang over the range are standard at 16 inches tall. Our old one was only 14 inches and its bottom was flush with the bottom of the cabinets. A new one would hang so low that seeing the top of the stove would have been difficult. So we just don’t have a microwave in our kitchen. It’s been almost eight months and we haven’t really noticed its absence.

There's no way I'm giving up my iPhone Scrabble App!

In 2011, the first date we were able to take a shower in our own home was Feb. 7. That’s the day our new bathroom was fully functional after the remodel that took two different contracting companies with an ice storm in the middle that shut down our city for four days. Yes, we lived without a toilet for the majority of that period. Unlike the microwave we immediately noticed this void. It was a long, icy walk down to the association’s clubhouse. I realized that if T and I can get along well in 800 sq. ft. with no toilet, microwave or shower then we can get along anywhere. Just as long as she doesn’t make me give up my [4] bicycles .

So, dear reader, what do you think you can’t live without? What would you give up? Not just for the 40 days of Lent, but at any time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

